Student Leadership Award

The National LGBT Bar Association’s Student Leadership Award is the organization’s highest honor for law students. The award recognizes a law student who has demonstrated leadership within their school and in the surrounding community, especially in the area of LGBTQ+ equality. The winner will be awarded with free registration for the 2019 Annual Lavender Law® Conference and Career Fair where they will be officially recognized and a congratulatory plaque.

Nominations have now closed.

Previous Awards:

  • 2018

    Winners – Nicole Schladt and Faris MohammedEmory University School of Law
    First Runner Up – Ashley Fasano, University of San Diego School of Law

  • 2017

    Winner – Christopher “Tripp” Zanetis, Stanford Law School
    First Runner-up – Andy Blevins, Willamette University
    Second Runner-up – Beck Zucker, The George Washington University Law School

  • 2016

    Winner – Joshua Treybig, Seattle University School of Law
    Winner – Kathleen Cullum, Indiana University Maurer School of Law

  • 2015

    Winner – Adam Grogan, Albany Law School
    Winner –Paul Sautter-Walker, Albany Law School

  • 2014

    Winner – Deborah Lolai, Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
    Runner-up – Brenna Ragghianti, Elon University School of Law

  • 2013

    Winner – Mieko Failey, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
    Runner-up – Elizabeth Dooley, Stanford Law School

  • 2012

    Winner – Michelle Garcia, Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
    Runner-up – Adam Chang, University of Hawaii, Manoa

  • 2011

    Winner – Jason C. Beekman, Cornell Law School
    Runner-up – Ashland Johnson, University of Georgia School of Law

  • 2010

    Winner – C. Hays Burchfield, University of Mississippi
    Runner-up – Danielle Hawkes, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law