Travis Torrence serves as Global Litigation Bankruptcy & Credit Team Lead at Shell Oil Company.  Travis graduated from Yale Law School in 2005 and received his undergraduate degree, summa cum laude, in Communication and Political Science from Tulane University.  Prior to joining Shell, Travis was a senior associate at Fulbright & Jaworski LLP (now known as Norton Rose Fulbright), where he chaired the Houston office’s Recruiting Committee and served as a founding member of the firm’s Diversity Advisory Council.  Before working at Fulbright, Travis served as a law clerk for the Honorable Edward C. Prado of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Travis has been honored by Texas SuperLawyers as a Rising Star in the area of Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights and the Houston Business Journal as a “40 Under 40” honoree and a finalist in its Best Corporate Counsel Awards. Travis currently serves on the board of directors of the National LGBT Bar Foundation and Texas Bar Foundation, and is the Chair of the Houston Bar Foundation.  He is also a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council for Tulane University’s School of Liberal Arts and the Yale Law School Fund Board.  He is a former member of the executive committee of the board of directors State Bar of Texas and President of The Arthur L. Moller/David B. Foltz, Jr. American Inn of Court and the Bo’s Place board of directors.  He has also served as Co-Chair of the Texas Minority Counsel Program.

Travis is a former champion of Dancing With The Houston Stars and has been featured, along with several NFL players (including JJ Watt and Kareem Jackson) and local leaders, as a “celebrity model” for fashion shows during galas to benefit programs conducted by Bo’s Place. Travis has also chaired numerous philanthropic events, including the World AIDS Day Luncheon, the Victory Fund Champagne Brunch, the Montrose Center’s Out For Good Gala, and the Camp For All Gala.  Travis previously worked as an on-air personality for B-97 FM; New Orleans’ #1 Hit Music Station.

Term: 2019 – 2021