The Frank Kameny Award is presented to a member of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community who has paved the way for important legal victories without a United States Juris Doctorate. The award was created to honor the memory of Frank Kameny, a tireless advocate for the LGBT community and the only recipient of the LGBT Bar’s Dan Bradley Award who did not have a law degree.

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2014 Frank Kameny Award, Lieutenant Colonel Jennifer Pritzker.

Lieutenant Colonel Pritzker is the Chair and Founder of the Pritzker Military Museum & Library, President and Founder of the Tawani Foundation and President and CEO of Tawani Enterprises, Inc. She served a total of 27 years in 3 components of the U.S. Army, including service in the prestigious 82nd and 101st Airborne Divisions as well as over 14 years in the National Guard and 4 years in the U.S. Army Reserve. She has dedicated her post-military career to raising awareness of military history and honoring military service. In 2013, Pritzker announced a first-of-its-kind grant to research issues impacting transgender military personnel.


Previous Winners: